3 things my golden retrievers taught me

IMG_0185

Working from home every week can get a bit lonely at times though often when I feel that way I happen to notice something golden and fluffy lay by the desk under my feet.

I’m lucky enough to have three fluffy golden’s that keep me and my family company throughout the day, though being a thinker despite them being apart of our family my golden’s have actually taught me a thing or two .

  1. It’s ok to lie in the sun and do nothing now and again ( housework can wait)
  2. Get to know  somebody you never quite know what “treats” are in store if you do ( you know like bacon stripes, chewy milky bones and all that good stuff ;) ) .
  3. Don’t pick faults in yourself  and be happy with how you are , even if you completely miss the frisbee you still attempted to catch it, give everything your all and are willing to try again.

My golden retrievers though they are extremely fluffy, steal my socks, drool on my leg whilst I eat biscuits and prevent me from ever wearing black I love them to pieces.  It’s surprising how much you can learn from something so slobbery and small don’t you think?  :)

Kate x

 | Twitter | Pinterest | Youtube |
4 thoughts on “3 things my golden retrievers taught me

  1. Have you ever read a book by Dean Koontz? Golden retrievers often play a role in his novels. :)

    Love that post — it’s so very true! :)

    Greetings from Germany,
    Birgit

      • One of the best Koontz novels with a golden retriever in a leading role (yes, really) is “Watchers”: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watchers_%28novel%29.

        Oh, and this quote by Koontz is just lovely:

        “Golden retrievers are not bred to be guard dogs, and considering the size of their hearts and their irrepressible joy in life, they are less likely to bite than to bark, less likely to bark than to lick a hand in greeting. In spite of their size, they think they are lap dogs, and in spite of being dogs, they think they are also human, and nearly every human they meet is judged to have the potential to be a boon companion who might, at many moment, cry, “Let’s go!” and lead them on a great adventure.”

        Can you tell that I really like golden retrievers? Hah!

        Hugs,
        Birgit

Comment ...

